HomeSite MapAnnouncements/CR & Judges FormsARS MembershipAwardsBy-LawsConsulting RosariansGardensJudgesLocal SocietiesNewslettersDistrict Seminars, Meetings and ShowsMiniature Hall of FameSociety Show ScheduleShow ResultsOfficersRelated LinksRoses in ReviewRosy Tips

Printable Version


Call for Nominations for

"Miniature and Miniflora Rose Hall of Fame"

Dr. Jim Hering, Chairman

ARS Miniature/Miniflora Rose Committee

The ARS Miniature and Miniflora Rose Hall of Fame honors those miniatures and minifloras that have stood the test of time in commerce for at least 20 years.  Now, it is your opportunity to participate in this process by sending in your nomination(s) (five or less).  A short list of the most popular miniature and miniflora roses that are 20 years old or older can be found at the end of this article.  Criteria for the Hall of Fame can be summarized as follows:

            1. The variety must have been introduced at least 20 years prior to the year the award is given.  Introduction date will be verified by the latest edition of Modern Roses.

            2. There can be multiple winners in any year.

            3. Varieties for consideration are solicited from the general membership through an announcement in the American Rose magazine, on the ARS website, in the Miniature Rose Bulletin, and in district and local bulletins.  Nominations are to be sent by May 1, 2012 to:         

                        Dr. Jim Hering

                        1050 Kingwood Drive

                        Marion, OH  43302


            4. The Chairman of the Miniature/Miniflora Rose Committee will prepare the tabulations for selection by the full committee by ballot. 

            5. Formal announcement of the winner(s) will take place at the ARS National Miniature Rose Conference.                         

                                                PREVIOUS WINNERS

ELECTED IN 1999                                                    ELECTED IN 2005

Starina, 1964, Meilland                                           Jean Kenneally, 1986, Bennett

Beauty Secret, 1972, Moore                                    Rainbow's End, 1986, Saville

Magic Carrousel, 1972, Moore                                  ELECTED IN 2006

Rise'n'Shine, 1977, Moore                                       Giggles, 1987, King

Party Girl, 1979, Saville                                          Black Jade, 1985, Benardella

ELECTED IN 2000                                                    ELECTED IN 2007

Cinderella, 1953, de Vink                                        Pierrine, 1988, M. Williams

Mary Marshall, 1970, Moore                                     ELECTED IN 2008

ELECTED IN 2001                                                    Irresistible, 1989, Bennett    

Green Ice, 1971, Moore                                          Fairhope, 1989, Pete & Kay Taylor

Jeanne Lajoie, 1976, Sima                                      ELECTED IN 2009

ELECTED IN 2002                                                    Gourmet Popcorn, 1986, Desamero

Cupcake, 1981, Spies                                             Luis Desamero, 1988, Bennett

ELECTED IN 2003                                                    Tiffany Lynn, 1985, N. Jolly

Snow Bride, 1982, Jolly                                           ELECTED IN 2010

Little Jackie, 1982, Saville                                       Chelsea Belle, 1991, Pete & Kay Taylor

ELECTED IN 2004                                                    Grace Seward, 1991, Bennett

Minnie Pearl, 1982, Saville                                      Fancy Pants, 1986, King                              

Red Cascade, 1976, Moore                                      ELECTED IN 2011

                                                                            Kristin, 1992, Benardella

                                                                            Olympic Gold, 1983, N. Jolly



Acey Deucy               Ain't Misbehavin'     Always a Lady            American Rose Centennial

Apricot Charm          Baby Katie                 Brass Ring                   Cal Poly                      Captivation

Connie                         Crazy Dottie              Cuddles                        Dee Bennett             Dixieland

Dreamglo                   Elfinglo                        Figurine                       Gail                              Golden Halo
Good Day Sunshine Good Morning America     Herbie                 Holy Toledo Jennifer  
Judy Fischer              June Laver                  Linville                         LovingTouch            

Millie Walters             Mothers Love             My Sunshine              Old Glory                    Orchid Jubilee

Over the Rainbow     Pacesetter                 Palmetto Sunrise     Peaches'n'Cream     Peggy "T"

Penny Lane                Plum Dandy               Poker Chip                  Popcorn                      Pride'n'Joy

Pucker Up                   Purple Dawn              Red Minimo                RoseWindow            
Rubies ‘n' Pearls Ruby Pendant 
Sequoia Gold              Sergeant Pepper      Si                                  Simplex

Snow Shower             Special Angel             Stars'n'Stripes          Suzy                            
Sweet Chariot Teddy Bear                            Tennessee                  Tiny Petals                
Toffee                         Toy Clown                    
Wildest Dreams        Winsome                   
Winter Magic             Yantai


Antique Velvet          Apricot Twist            Berry Berry Red      Blessed Event            Bloomtown

Blue Ice                       Bright Sight              Bunny Hop                 Butternut                   Cajun Dancer

Cajun Spice                 California Blonde    Cherry Sunblaze       Cherry Wine               Christa

Cinnamon Delight     Dasher                       Double Date              Dragon's Fire             Dream Baby

Endeavour                  Erika My Love           Folk Dance                 Forever Mine             Gala Gold

Golden Token             Grace Wood              Gretta                          Hoot ‘n' Holler           Hot Tamale

Isle of Roses              Katy Lampkin           Kiwi Sunrise                Klima                          Lavender Delight

Lights of Broadway  Linda Buford              Little Meghan             Magician                    Manteo

Mary Margaret           Melody Marshall        Midnight Rambler     Opening Act             Paddywack

Party Popcorn           Pink Bunting              Rebecca Anne           Red Cameo                Rosy Forecast

Royal Lady                  School Days               Silken Laumann        Simply Elegant          Small Miracle

Splish Splash              Springwood Ruby      Spunky                       Striped Pet                 Summer Sunset

Sweet Scent               Vee Marie                    Velvet Touch             Violet Mist                  X-Rated

Yellow Bouquet         Young ‘n' Innocent   Zig-Zag



The 2012 ARS National Miniature Rose Show and Conference will be held in Columbus, Ohio from July 27-29, 2012.  Contact Brian Burley, 614-846-9404, for information.    

Enter supporting content here